Ghana: do South Africans need a visa?

Travel with cautionOther governments advise against travel to parts of the country, or to reconsider travel. Why

South Africans need an online travel authorisation before flying to Ghana. You can stay up to 90 days per year.

Free Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) required before travel. Since 25 May 2026 Ghana sorts travellers into three routes: visa-free (ECOWAS and AES nationals only), ETA (all African nationals and countries with bilateral visa waivers) and eVisa (everyone else). South Africa is an African country with a bilateral waiver, so South Africans fall in the ETA group. The ETA is free. Visa-free arrival without an ETA is no longer the rule for South Africans.1234

Ghana now needs an ETA before you flySince 25 May 2026, South Africans must get an Electronic Travel Authorisation from evisa.immigration.gov.gh before travelling to Ghana. Visa-free entry without it has ended. Use only the official portal; sites that charge a service fee are not the government. Source: gis.gov.gh, discover.passportindex.org, fragomen.com

Travel advice

Travel with caution

The UK advises against all but essential travel to the Bawku Municipal area in Upper East region. The US rates parts of the north Level 3.

We show UK and US government advice because they publish detailed, regularly updated assessments. Checked 5 October 2026.

Read the full advice: UK Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

Before you travel

Purpose of visit

Tourism and business (meetings, conferences). The ETA and the bilateral waiver do not allow work.15

Confirmed on an official government source

Passport validity

Valid for at least 6 months from your intended date of departure from Ghana, with at least 3 blank pages (eVisa applicant guide). UK and US advice say 6 months from arrival.11011

Confirmed on an official government source

How to apply

Apply online for the free ETA on the official Ghana Immigration Service portal, evisa.immigration.gov.gh, before you travel. Fee: none for African passport holders. Ghana's minister said decisions come within 48 hours; the portal lists standard processing as 96 hours, so apply at least a week ahead. ETA validity period and number of entries are not published. Non-African nationals pay US$260 (standard, 96 hours), US$338 (priority, 48 hours) or US$442 (express, 5 hours) for an eVisa.12398

Confirmed on an official government source

Where South Africans apply

Online only, at evisa.immigration.gov.gh. The Ghana High Commission in Pretoria handles consular matters, but its visa page is out of date (it predates both the 2023 waiver and the 2026 ETA) and should not be relied on.212

Confirmed on an official government source

Travel insurance

Not published by official sources

Return or onward ticket

The eVisa applicant guide requires a confirmed return or onward travel itinerary. Whether the ETA asks for it is not stated separately; carry one.1

Confirmed on an official government source

Proof of funds

The eVisa guide asks tourist applicants for proof of sufficient funds, such as a bank statement for the last 3 months. Not stated separately for the ETA; carry recent statements.1

Confirmed on an official government source

Accommodation or invitation

The eVisa guide asks for accommodation covering the full stay, or a Ghanaian host's identification (Ghana Card or passport). Not stated separately for the ETA; carry a booking or invitation letter.1

Confirmed on an official government source

Vaccinations, including yellow fever on return to South Africa

GHANA: A valid yellow fever vaccination certificate is required for entry into Ghana (GIS eVisa guide; US advice says for all travellers 9 months or older). SOUTH AFRICA: Ghana is on South Africa's yellow fever risk list. Everyone over 1 year old, South Africans included, returning to South Africa from Ghana, or after an airport transit of more than 12 hours there, must show a valid yellow fever certificate on arrival in South Africa. Get vaccinated at least 10 days before travel; the certificate is valid for life.1101113

Confirmed on an official government source

Arrival forms

You must declare all hard currency on the declaration form provided on arrival; the maximum you may carry is the cedi equivalent of US$10,000. No separate digital arrival card found.1011

Confirmed by other governments' official advice

Extending your stay and overstaying

Not published by official sources

Transit

Not published for South Africans under the ETA. The older Pretoria High Commission page lists airside transit passengers as exempt; not reconfirmed under the 2026 system.12

Not yet confirmed by an official source

Travelling with children

Not published by official sources

What changed

7 July 2026US advisory for Ghana at Level 2 (exercise increased caution), Level 3 for parts of the north. UK FCDO (updated 2 July 2026) advises against all but essential travel to Bawku Municipal area, Upper East region.
25 May 2026Ghana launched the eVisa portal evisa.immigration.gov.gh. Non-ECOWAS African nationals and previously visa-exempt nationals now need a free ETA before travel. The old visa-free and visa-on-arrival framework was replaced.
1 November 2023Ghana-South Africa reciprocal visa waiver for ordinary passports took effect: up to 90 days cumulative in 12 months, tourism and business, no work.

Sources

Official

The destination's own government

  1. 1Ghana Immigration Service (official eVisa portal, applicant guide) evisa.immigration.gov.gh
  2. 2Ghana Immigration Service (official eVisa portal) evisa.immigration.gov.gh
  3. 3Ghana Immigration Service gis.gov.gh
  4. 12Ghana High Commission, Pretoria ghanahighcommission.co.za

Other government

Official advice from other governments

  1. 7DIRCO (South African High Commission, London) dirco.gov.za
  2. 10UK FCDO gov.uk
  3. 11US Department of State travel.state.gov
  4. 13DIRCO (South African High Commission, Canberra) dirco.gov.za

Reference

Used to find official sources, never the final word

  1. 9Passport Index (Passe/Port) discover.passportindex.org

Commercial

Visa agencies, law firms and travel companies

  1. 4Fragomen fragomen.com
  2. 5Fragomen fragomen.com

News and guides

Leads we check, never the answer

  1. 6Graphic Online graphic.com.gh
  2. 8Graphic Online graphic.com.gh

Last researched 5 October 2026. Rules change; confirm with the embassy before you book. Spotted something out of date? Report a change.